A writing prompt from Pee-Wee Herman

In the 1985 movie “Pee-Wee’s Big Adventure,” the man-child sets out to find his beloved bike, which has been stolen. A psychic tells him the bike is hidden in the basement of the Alamo. On the way there, he meets Simone, a waitress. In a memorable scene set in the dinosaur’s mouth in Cabazon, California, Simone admits to her yearning to see Paris. He urges her to go.

Simone: “I know you’re right, Pee-wee, but… ”

Pee-wee: “Everyone I know has a big ‘But…?’ C’mon, Simone, let’s talk about your big ‘But’.”

I think about that line more often than you’d imagine.

Okay, readers. There’s your prompt. Write me about your big “but.” See submission guidelines

-Sarah White


About first person productions

My blog "True Stories Well Told" is a place for people who read and write about real life. I’ve been leading life writing groups since 2004. I teach, coach memoir writers 1:1, and help people publish and share their life stories.
This entry was posted in Writing prompt, writing workshop. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A writing prompt from Pee-Wee Herman

  1. Pingback: Sitting On My But | True Stories Well Told

Leave a comment